60's Music--How it changed your life

Discuss the band.

60's Music--How it changed your life

Postby guitarbro » Thu Jul 16, 2009 11:31 am

Being that I started playing guitar at an young age, Hearing the early surf music had it's influence. Fender Stratocasters (the real ones) immersed in reverb certainly caught my ear. Beach Boy harmonies that were taken to another leval. Then late 1963, and it was like watching a flower bloom, hearing a song called "Please Please me" Hearing so many parts of this one song, knowing that it was based on Carl Perkins guitar mastery, Everly Brothers harmonies, and a simple surf like drum beat. However it was so different then what was out there on American radio.
A change had begun. Music in the 60's was all together a montage of great talents, it was diverse. It was a time when every groups sound was different, totally different, no one sounded the same. Like once when I saw Albert Collins, Creedence, Iron Butterfly, and a young Lee Michaels on one bill. But every concert was like that. Originality and being creative was the formula.There were no labels put on music,no one was really critical of any artist, it was all about the music.something I have carried with me and believe in highly to this day. "It's about the music" It was never said nor thought of that guitar player X or drummer Y was better then guitar player Z or drummer Q. Who really cared. For me all I cared about was hearing great music. Sure I had my favorite guitar players, but they were not better then anyone else, just different.
Music in the 60's helped me to understand all aspects of what music really is. "A Gift" without predjudice,without barriers,without bigotry.
guitarbro

Re: 60's Music--How it changed your life

Postby Lonesomedave » Thu Jul 16, 2009 11:57 am

In a word, lyrics.
In the '60's the music was more than music, it was the forefront of a massive social change.